Sophomore Emily Mao makes it to States at BPA Regionals

by Mila Murray

photo

Sophomore Emily Mao, BPA member for 2 years.

On Jan.10, the Business Professionals of America (BPA) Regional Leadership Conference took place at Baker College of Auburn Hills, hosted for the first time in 20 years by Stoney.

At Regionals, approximately 475 area high school students from 13 area high schools participate in over 50 categories of events that require necessary business skills such as accounting, presentations, and interview skills.

After the events followed the award ceremony, where sophomore Emily Mao found out she was on her way to the State Leadership Conference because of winning second place in the keyboarding event.

“I was the first one to finish my event, and since my event was early I had to wait the whole entire day,” Mao said. “The anticipation of ‘did I make a mistake’ ‘did I finish too fast made me start to second guess myself. But when they called my name I was surprised!”

With Mao headed to States around March 21–24 in Grand Rapids and possibly Nationals around May 8–12 in Orlando, Florida, her second year of BPA is so far been a better one for her.

“Last year I had no idea what I was doing, it was kind of a mess,” Mao said. “This year I’m more prepared.”

Other BPA conference dates and information can be found here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Comment on “Sophomore Emily Mao makes it to States at BPA Regionals”

  1. Emily January 17, 2014 at 12:30 pm #

    Thanks for the article Mila! 🙂

Leave a Reply

